View Modified Files

In a project, select the Modified (number of files) view. The modified files view is visible only if you are using source control with your project.

If you need to update the modified files list, click Refresh in the source control section of the Project tab.

Use the Modified files view to review, analyze, label, and commit modified files. Lists of modified files are sometimes called changesets. You can perform the same operations in the Modified files view as you can in other file views. To view changes, see Compare Revisions.

Tip

In the Modified files view, it can be useful to switch to the List layout.

You can identify modified or conflicted folder contents using the source control summary status. In the Files views, folders display rolled-up source control status. This makes it easier to locate changes in files, particularly conflicted files. You can hover over the source control status (e.g., the SVN or Git column) for a folder to view a tooltip displaying how many files inside are modified, conflicted, added or deleted.

Project Definition Files

The files in resources/project are project definition files generated by your changes. The project definition files allow you to add metadata to files without checking them out, for example, by creating shortcuts, adding labels, and adding a project description. Project definition files also define the files that are added to your project.

Any changes you make to your project (for example, to shortcuts, labels, categories, or files in the project) generate changes in the resources/project folder. These files store the definition of your project in XML files whose format is subject to change.

You do not need to view project definition files directly, except when the source control tool requires a merge. The files are shown so that you know about all the files being committed to the source control system. See Resolve Conflicts.

If you want to change project definition file from the type used when the project was created, see export.

You can use the project preferences to change the project definition folder for new projects, for example, if you want to revert to folder names for releases before R2019a: .SimulinkProject or _SimulinkProject.

Related Examples

More About